First wave of candidates file for reelection ahead of spring vote

Jan 19, 2022

Nine of the 12 town officials up for election in April have signaled their intention to seek re-election, while no challengers have yet surfaced.

Up for election on April 5 will be seats on the Select Board, School Committee, Planning Board, and four other boards — as well as all members of Town Meeting and the town’s moderator.

While Select Board members John Haran and Shawn McDonald are both up for re-election, only Haran has taken out nomination papers. McDonald did not immediately respond to inquiries about his electoral plans.

Likewise, incumbents Chris Oliver and Lynne Brodeur of the School Committee and Board of Health respectively have not yet taken out the papers required to run for reelection.

In total, candidates who have filed include: Haran for Select Board, Stephen Taylor for Planning Board, Melissa Haskell for Town Moderator, Kevin Santos for Board of Assessors, John Nunes for School Committee, James Vieira and Joseph Vieira for Board of Parks and Recreation, and Joan Menard and William Chandler for Library Board of Trustees.

No challengers have yet taken out nomination papers, according to the town clerk’s office.

This year’s election will be held Tuesday, April 5. The last day to obtain nomination papers is Feb. 11. On that day, papers will be available until 5 p.m.

Nomination papers must be submitted to the Town Clerk's Office for certification by Feb. 15, with a deadline of 5 p.m.

Residents running for a town office must collect 50 signatures with their nomination papers. Those running for a spot as a Town Meeting Member need to collect 20 signatures.

Of the nine candidates who have already pulled papers, only James Vieira has submitted them to the town clerk’s office so far.

The Town Clerk's Office is located at Dartmouth Town Hall, and is open Monday-Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For more information, contact the office at (508) 910-1800.