School Committee member not running for re-election

Jan 13, 2020

Town election season is here, and this early in the race there is already a shakeup in the School Committee race.

Two School Committee members are up for re-election, but member Carol Karafotis has confirmed she will not seek re-election to the seat she’s held for the past six years. 

The veteran Dartmouth educator, who once served as principal at Gidley and Quinn Elementary Schools, first ran for the School Committee in 2014. She won re-election to the committee in 2017. 

“I just wanted to give someone else an opportunity to serve,” Karafotis said, adding that she hopes to see another name on the ballot. 

School Committee Chair Kathleen Amaral, however, is running for re-election for a second term on the committee. She won her first election in 2017. 

“I figured I’d put it out there again, because I’ve enjoyed it greatly,” Amaral said. 

So far, Amaral is the only candidate in the School Committee race to take out nomination papers. 

It is a similar story for all other races. In the Select Board race, incumbent Stanley Mickelson is up for re-election, seeking his third term on the board. He has taken out and returned his nomination papers.

Planning Board member Kevin Melo has pulled nomination papers to run for re-election. 

Robert Michaud is running for re-election to the Board of Assessors, Thomas Hardman for re-election to the Board of Health, Sherri L. Tetrault for re-election to Parks and Recreation, and Suzanne McDonald for re-election to the Board of Library Trustees.

Interested in running for town office? There is still plenty of time. 

Residents interested in running for an elected position can obtain nomination papers from the Town Clerk's Office until February 13.  Papers with 50 signatures of registered Dartmouth voters are due back at the Town Clerk's Office by February 18.

The annual town election is April 7.