Six Dartmouth residents will participate in bike ride fundraiser next month

Jul 12, 2022

On Aug. 6 and 7, more than 6,000 riders, including six from Dartmouth, will pedal in the Pan-Mass Challenge (PMC), a bike-a-thon with one and two-day routes ranging from 25 to 210 miles. The goal of the challenge will be topping last year’s record-breaking gift to the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute by raising $66 million for cancer research and patient care at the facility.

The PMC is the nation’s single most successful athletic fundraiser, the organization said, adding that 100% of every rider-raised dollar is given to Dana-Farber as its largest single contributor.

Since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic in early 2020, the PMC has raised more than $114 million for Dana-Farber, bringing its 42-year contribution to Dana-Farber to $831 million.

“We’re coming off of a record-breaking fundraising year for Dana-Farber, and we’re thrilled to be ‘back in the saddle’ this summer, bringing our PMC community together for our first traditional PMC weekend since 2019 with our sights set on making an even bigger impact in the fight against cancer,” said Billy Starr, founder and executive director of the PMC. “We are so inspired by the dedication of our riders, volunteers, donors, sponsors and community members throughout the last two challenging years and can’t wait to see everyone on the road this August for the 43rd PMC.”

PMC 2022 will include 16 routes — from 25 to 210 miles — designed to cater to all levels of cycling and fundraising ability.

Most participate in honor of a family member or friend fighting cancer and more than 800 riders and volunteers are cancer survivors or current patients.

More than 150 Dana-Farber employees are committed to the cause as riders and volunteers as well, in some cases to fund their own cancer research.

To make a financial contribution to a rider or to register as a rider, visit, or call (800) WE-CYCLE.

This year’s Dartmouth riders include: Michael Anthony, James Coggeshall, Joan DeCollibus, Heather Mickool, Tom Beaton, and James DiPasqua