Sole remaining grist mill opens to public July 31
Dartmouth Natural Resources Trust invites the public to visit the town’s only remaining grist mill, Allen’s Mill, at an open house from 1 to 5 p.m. Saturday, July 31.
TerraCorps Service Member Bruce Traban will lead visitors through the mill to explore the rich history of the property and learn about the inner workings of the building.
At one time, Dartmouth was home to more than 30 mills. Millstones used for grinding corn, wheat, and rye weighed approximately 2,000 pounds each.
This last standing mill has been located at this site since at least as far back as 1711 and mill operations occurred here until the 1950s, Dartmouth Natural Resources Trust reports. The mill site was purchased by the trust as part of its Destruction Brook Woods acquisition in 2000 and the mill was restored in the 2000s.
Allen’s Mill is located on the north side of Slade’s Corner Road, between 107 and 111 Slades Corner Road, approximately 4/10ths of a mile from Russell’s Mills Village.