Incumbents win District No. 2 and 3 Prudential Committee races; newcomer joins District No. 1

May 1, 2018

Dartmouth Fire District No. 2 and 3’s Prudential Committees will remain the same, while a new face joins District No. 1 after each committee’s election on April 30.

In District No. 3, incumbent Robert Zina kept his seat with 360 votes. Zina had previously served as a volunteer firefighter in the district, and has been on the Prudential Committee for years.

“I thank everybody that helped me very much, and I did not run for myself, I ran for the firefighters,” Zina said. “My opponent, no hard feelings, I respect him.”

Newcomer Kenneth Loranger ran against Zina for his seat. Loranger, a car insurance appraiser, had 87 votes.

“I’d like to congratulate Bob Zina for winning, and secondly I’d like to congratulate all of my voters for going out and voting for me,” Loranger said. “Thirdly, I think what we have done is open up the eyes to a lot of the residents who are unaware of what the Prudential Committee is all about.

With a total voter turnout of 40, Ralph Medeiros was re-elected to the Dartmouth Fire District No. 2 Prudential Committee. He received 40 votes. He's been involved in the fire district since his son was in its junior firefighters program.

“I thank the voters for voting for me, plain and simple, they took the time to vote,” Medeiros said. “Our district’s small, normally we don’t get that kind of turnout, so I’m happy that they took the time to get involved and show their support for me.”

In District No. 1, incumbent Joe Sylvia did not run for re-election, leaving newcomers Joann Avila and Robert Davignon vying for the seat. Davignon won the election with 244 votes, while Avila had 136 votes.

“I did think it was going to be closer,” Davignon said, adding he plans to get right to work keeping the district’s tax rate low.

Avila could not immediately be reached for comment.