Former police sergeant pulls papers for Select Board race

Feb 6, 2019

With the Friday deadline for candidates to take out papers approaching, at least one Select Board race could be contested. Frank Condez has pulled papers to run against Shawn McDonald for Select Board in the April town election.

Condez is a former sergeant with the Dartmouth Police Department. According to Civil Service Commission filings, he was terminated from the department in 2015.

He is currently suing the town and town officials regarding his termination and his missing department-issued firearm. He could not comment on the lawsuit, but did state he felt it was telling the lawsuit was not dismissed.

My focus in running for Select Board is to return transparency, fairness and accountability to town government,” Condez said via email, addressing two things he said he hears from voters: People who come before the Select Board are not treated equally, and there is a lack of transparency on the board, particularly with the use of behind-closed-doors executive sessions.

Shawn McDonald, the incumbent and current Select Board chairman, is seeking his fourth term on the board.

“I’m still having fun,” McDonald said. “I’m still enjoying doing this, and I still have a lot more to contribute.”

McDonald declined to weigh in on his potential opponent. 

It is, so far, the only race which could be contested. Incumbent Select Board member John Haran has also pulled papers for re-election.

In the Planning Board race, two seats are open. Joel Avila, the board’s former chairman, resigned last year to retire. Longtime Planning Board member Joseph Toomey will not seek re-election, as he is also retiring.

Timothy Cusson has taken out papers to run for Toomey’s seat, while Stephen E. Taylor has taken out papers to run for Avila’s seat. Both are running unopposed.

In the Parks Board race, James Vieira and Joseph Vieira have taken out papers to run for re-election. Kevin Santos is running for re-election on the Board of Assessors. Both Chris Oliver and John Nunes are running for re-election on the School Committee.

William Chandler and is running for re-election as a Trustee of Free Public Libraries. Joan Menard is also running for the Trustees position.

Elaine Lancaster is running for re-election on the Housing Authority. Lynne Brodeur is running for re-election on the Board of Health. Melissa Haskell is running for re-election as Town Meeting moderator.

Any registered voter can also run as a Town Meeting Member for his or her precinct.

The deadline to take out papers to run for the April town election is 5 p.m. on Feb. 8. For more information about elections, including deadlines and information about running, contact the Town Clerk’s Office at (508) 910-1800 or visit