Four long-time volunteers honored by Dartmouth Natural Resources Trust

May 25, 2023

The non-profit Dartmouth Natural Resources Trust honored four outstanding volunteers at its 52nd Annual Meeting held at Friends Academy on Wednesday, May 17.  

Tally and John Garfield received the “Bill Pinney Conservation Leadership Award,” given to honor those who have made an outstanding contribution to the conservation of Dartmouth’s natural resources. Bettina Borders and Vic Mailey received the “Joe Frothingham Award” given to trust members who exemplify Frothingham’s dedication to conservation, love of the outdoors, and pure joy in it all. 

Tally Garfield was one of the trust's early leaders, taking the role of board secretary in 1978 and president of the board from 1981 to 1983. During her time as president, she was instrumental in the collaborations between Dartmouth Natural Resources Trust and the Lloyd Center. She is also responsible for setting the standard for the trust newsletter, which she edited for many years. 

Her husband John has established himself as a thoughtful and strategic contributor to the Land Acquisition Committee. This committee is responsible for protecting land in Dartmouth by working with landowners who donate conservation restrictions, acquiring properties through donation or purchase, and collaborating with other conservation organizations, agencies, and the town. He is one of the longest-serving members of this committee, contributing to thousands of acres of protected land in Dartmouth. 

Bettina Borders and Vic Mailey were honored for embodying the legacy of Joe Frothingham by always being eager to contribute to the beautification and functionality of the trust’s reserves. Mailey is an extremely hard worker and leader at many volunteer trail clearing and maintenance days. Together, Borders and Mailey are co-stewards of the Dodge Reserve. 

What was once a tangle of invasive plants is now a beautiful reserve with a short trail system and bridge over Buttonwood Brook. Without them, trust officials reported, it is unlikely that this property would be accessible to the public. In addition to her efforts in stewarding the Dodge Reserve, Borders served on the trust’s Board of Directors from 2017 to 2023. 

At the meeting, Dartmouth Natural Resources Trust members also elected five new members to its Board of Directors: Jack Garraty, Thad Herliczek, Andrea Langhauser, Karen Rocha, and Lynn Seymour. 

Officers elected were James R. Dorsey as President, Doug Roscoe as Vice-President, Lynne Cotter as Secretary, and Clifford “Tip” Tracy as Treasurer.  Dan King renewed for a second three-year term.